Dying today

Published August 6, 2012 by meganbiddle

I died a little today.  It was something so funny, and I know you would have thought it was funny too.  I had the message all typed out, but just before I hit send, I remembered.  We aren’t doing that anymore.  And so I died a little today.  

I died a little today.  I figured some things out for myself.  I was brave.  I was almost the me I used to know.  The me from such a long time ago, before I was damaged goods.  The me that used to know exactly what she wanted out of life.  I was her for a moment today, and I wanted to tell you.  But you have your own life, and I have mine.  You don’t want any part of me.  And so I died a little today.  

I think you would have been proud of me, but I can’t share my day with you.

I think you would have cheered for me, but you don’t want to know about the game.

I think you would have laughed with me and at me, but we aren’t laughing anymore.  

We aren’t anything.  We never were.  We were merely a dream that never came true.  Lovers that never met.  Time that passed, and I who gave myself; empty, hollow, emotionless, broken.  

Leave a Reply

