Confessions of a Fat Girl…Sticks and Stones

Published August 16, 2012 by meganbiddle

If you are anything like me, at some point in your life, someone made fun of you, and your mom used the phrase “Sticks and stone may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” Sorry mom, I am calling your bluff on this one! Words hurt so much more. I am convinced that is the reason we have such an epidemic with suicide today and our young people. If you are an over-thinker (yes, I am sugar-coating it, my blog, my rules) as I am, those words stick with you. You don’t constantly think about them, but when you are having a bad day, or when the number on the scale doesn’t move, those little whispers come back with a vengeance, and the next thing you know you are standing with the freezer door open eating ice cream directly from the container (not that I would know from experience).

Words hurt, a lot. I am not confessing to be the nicest person on the planet by an stretch of the imagination. However, with the advent of social media I really think some times you say it best, when you say nothing at all. Look how out of hand and mean adults can get on facebook, now insert teenage hormones and drama, and you get a recipe for disaster.

So over-thinkers of the world, what is your brilliant solution? I could stop thinking, okay, perhaps not. I could tell myself every day how wonderful and fantastic I am and maybe at some point in my life I will actually believe myself; not likely. Since I have no solution, I will just continue to struggle with my insecurities.

Leave a Reply

