Not like the movies

Published August 21, 2012 by meganbiddle

You know those families in the movies, where the women all meet at the cemetery together, and hold hands and walk out to the grave together, showing their love and support for each other? I don’t have one of those kind of families. But I am assuming you don’t either. I am just going to assume that those types of families only exist in movies. If you are one of the fortunate few to have a family like this, be thankful

It’s been four years today since my Papaw entered into eternity. I still miss him. Sure, none of us would want him to be here and miserable with Parkinson’s disease, but I still miss his smile, his tooth-less grin. My 2 year old identifies him in pictures. “Momma’s Pa, Momma’s Pa.” What is the most difficult thing about death, is not the one who is gone, but those who are left behind. Funerals are not for the dead; they are to comfort the living. My concern is for those who refuse to live after someone has died. I understand for people who have been in your live essentially forever, and then they are gone, there is a void in your life. I get it. But, all your grief, your sorrow, your pain, is not going to bring you any sense of comfort. It may only add more of the same.

Since once they we are gone, we can’t go back and fix things, or spend more time with someone, shouldn’t we do that now? Shouldn’t we live every day like we are dying? Jump out of perfectly good planes. Travel the world if you possibly can. Do things that scare the crap out of you, and I am pretty sure, that you will thank me once you have. Sure, you may never want to jump out of another plane, but what about that bucket list you wanted to get through? No one is going to do it for you, and really what is the point of dying with regrets?

Leave a Reply

