Confessions of a Fat Girl…Today’s Lesson, Self-Esteem

Published August 24, 2012 by meganbiddle

Listen up!! This one is actually important. Please don’t let your daughters end up like me. I am serious about that. I am thirty-something and I still have self-esteem issues, and it sucks! I have two daughters, and I look at them, and I don’t want them to end up like me. I don’t want them to be unsure of themselves. I want them to be confident women. I don’t want them to look to other people for approval. I want them to be sure of the decisions they make in their lives. Sure, most people second guess themselves at some point in their lives, and that is fine, but don’t make every decision a difficult one. It really isn’t necessary, and quite frankly, it is exhausting.

If you grow up a fat girl, chances are you hear things like, “You have such a pretty face.” or “It’s what is on the inside that counts.” Well, let me just tell you this…A a person who was born fat, and has heard those statements more times than she ever cares to, if I ever hear you say those things to one of my children, I might punch you in the nose! Those are very unfair statements, not because of the words you say, but because of the words you don’t. You have such a pretty face…if you would lose some weight everyone would want you. You have such a pretty face…too bad you are so heavy that people can’t get to know the real you. You have such a pretty face…too bad it is missed because you are so fat. OR It’s what is on the inside that counts…but it what is on the outside that people notice. It’s what is on the inside that counts…some day someone will see the real you under there.

Now that you have read this far you are doing one of three things
a.) Tearing up because people said the same things to you
b.) Tearing up because you were one of those mean people who said such things to the fat kids
c.) Shaking you head because you don’t believe people actually said things like that (trust me, they did, they do, and family can be the worst ones, even if they think they mean well)

What do I want from you? Well that is the million dollar question, now isn’t it? Teach your children to respect others, but in order to do that, you are going to have to teach them how to respect themselves. Tell your daughters they are beautiful. Teach your sons how to treat a lady. Remember dads, your daughters are looking at YOU for direction. Are YOU acting like the kind of man you want your daughters to marry? If you aren’t then you need to make some changes, because chances are, she is going to marry someone just like you. Does that scare you? If it does, what do you need to change? Ladies, if you have issues with your self-esteem, then chances are your daughters are going to have issues too. Chin up ladies (and me). You are brave (yes, I am brave). You are strong (I am strong). Write them encouraging notes, I am writing myself encouraging notes lately. We are our own worst enemies, but we don’t have to stay that way!

Leave a Reply

