Confessions of a Fat Girl…ENOUGH ALREADY!

Published September 4, 2012 by meganbiddle

THAT’S RIGHT, I AM TYPING IN SHOUTY CAPS!!! WHY? THANK YOU FOR ASKING. I AM TIRED OF PEOPLE BEING HURT OVER NUMBERS ON THE STUPID SCALE! WE ARE MORE THAN WHAT THOSE NUMBERS ON THE SCALE SAY! WHY IS WHAT YOU LOOK LIKE SO IMPORTANT? HAVEN’T WE BE TOLD ALL OF OUR LIVES IT IS WHAT’S ON THE INSIDE THAT COUNTS? REALLY? DO YOU MEAN THAT AT ALL? BECAUSE THAT MAY BE WHAT YOU SAY, BUT IT ISN’T WHAT YOU MEAN! LOOK AT THOSE GIRLS ON TELEVISION, WHEN IS THE LAST TIME THEY TOUCHED, ATE, OR SMELLED A CARBOHYDRATE? AND THEY ARE THE ONES WE TEACH OUR DAUGHTERS IT IS OKAY TO WANT TO LOOK LIKE, ACT LIKE, OR THINK LIKE, WHEN REALLY WE KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THEM. ALL WE KNOW IS THAT IF THEY DROP TEN POUNDS A MAGAZINE MAKES UP A MIRACLE DIET, AND SLAPS THEIR RETOUCHED PHOTO ON THE COVER FOR THE WORLD TO ENVY. DOES SHE EXERCISE CONSTANTLY? DOES SHE STARVE HERSELF? DOES SHE MAKE HERSELF VOMIT? DOES SHE RESTRICT HERSELF TO 1,000 CALORIES A DAY? LOOK AT THESE GIRLS! THEIR BOOBS AREN’T REAL, AND THEY NEED TO EAT A CHEESEBURGER! IS THAT WHAT WE WANT TO TEACH OUR CHILDREN? LET’S ALL BE FAKE?

Enough Already! I don’t care if you weigh 150 or 250, if you lose 20 pounds be proud of yourself! Tell the entire world so that they can be proud of you too! People, stop looking at those of us with extra weight that are trying hard to get it right so critically!! Surgery isn’t the answer for everyone, trust me I know. I am fairly certain that many of us “big girls” as some of you like to call us (don’t call me that, my name is Meg) have consumed far less calories than skinny girls today. We don’t sit around eating ice cream all day, nor do we only eat at buffets. I spent two hours in the gym today after going to class, and a funeral. What did you do except laugh at me?

I really hate it when people say, “You look like you have lost weight. How much have you lost? How much more do you have to go?” Can’t you just encourage me (and my friends too) and tell me I am doing a fantastic job. Please don’t be like some people and say, “I heard you lost weight, but I just don’t see it.” THAT IS NOT HELPFUL! I understand you can see the 20 pounds on the person that weighs 150 a whole lot easier than you can on the person that weighs 250, but remember, after that 20 is gone then they only weigh 230, and they have done something absolutely fantastic for themselves.

The bottom line is….IF YOU CAN’T SAY SOMETHING ENCOURAGING, AFFIRMING, AND HONEST (trust me I know if you lie) THEN DON’T OPEN YOUR MOUTH!

Leave a Reply

