Oh yes, I am selfish

Published November 17, 2012 by meganbiddle

I will admit that the crisis in Israel hurts my heart but for more than one reason.  Yes, for the selfish reason that 40 days from today I was supposed to board a plane for Jerusalem.  For once in my life, I was doing something for me; a 15 day tour of the Holy Land.  But as people continue to die what I want no longer seems to matter.  Gaza is launching rockets at Jerusalem and the government buildings are being bombed in Gaza; people a dying.  What are they dying for again?  Do they even remember anymore?  

Yesterday I was speaking to a professional woman who is from Egypt and she asked me if I had heard about the updates for the day, and I recounted what I knew.  I told her that another leader from Hamas had been assassinated.  She replied, “Thank God.”  As we stood talking, I wasn’t sure that I agreed.  Yes, this is horrible.  Dictators are horrible; but war.  Death of Innocent.  What about loving your enemies?  Remember that?  

Leave a Reply

